Pattern Paper – going from argh to … maybe …

When I first started crafting as a hobby I purchased a few 12 x 12 pattern paper sets from Stampin Up … and well, pretty much never used them. I was about to give them away (nothing sadder in a craft room than unused supplies) when online card classes advertised a class on using pattern papers, pattern play.

My first attempt at using pattern paper is paper piecing. I ended up using quite a subtle paper for the flowers and stems, and plain card stock for the stalks. I also added a strip to the inside of the card; a striped pattern with the same colors as the paper used on the front of the card.

photo(46)

My first attempt at paper piecing.

I also decided to try a little paper weaving. I haven’t quite figured out how to finish this tag, but it was quite a lot of fun doing the weaving itself. Although it turns out getting the weaving to be completely straight was quite hard. I might use this tag in my journal tomorrow … so watch this space to see how it all evolves.

My first attempt at paper weaving.

My first attempt at paper weaving.

I am still not too convinced about using pattern paper. I do like the ideas from the class, particularly paper piecing and using the paper behind a negative die cut.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Pattern Paper – going from argh to … maybe …

  1. I’m totally with you on this – 12×12 – probably wasn’t a good choice but who knew when we were getting started, eh? I loved seeing how they can be used (up) and I think you’ve done well. Keep on truckin’! I want to weave some papers too… maybe today…

  2. LOVE the papers you used for your woven tag–lots of textural interest. Is that some dotted ribbon I spy? and its final location in your art journal! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  3. Thank you for coming by and leaving me some love, Angela, so I could return the flavor and visit you! Always room for new friends and I love your “live in the moment” attitude!!

    Now about this patterned paper. My heavens, you sure picked the hardest to start with! That die is so intricate for piecing, but you’ve mastered it beautifully! And quilting, too? Rock on!

    I’m working part of the next two weeks, but I’m hoping to still have time to finish up the videos so I can get the full-on inspiration I need to start using up my indecent supply of PP!

Leave a Reply

