Colorful grid birthday card

Colorful grid birthday card

One of my favorite crafters is Lisa, her blog can be found here: http://iminhaven.blogspot.co.nz. She used this grid die a few months back, and I loved what she did with it … mine just arrived, so I “copied” her idea for my first card with it. It was a little fiddly but pretty relaxing, and I have now added another birthday card to my collection.

A masculine birthday card for the A blog named hero challenge and the CAS on Sunday challenge.

Update: wow – how cool!! 🙂 I was one of the top 3 in the CAS on Sunday masculine challenge. Wahoo!! 🙂

Favorite

7 thoughts on “Colorful grid birthday card

  1. Ah, a Lisa card! I always want to copy every one of hers . But I must have missed this grid and now MUST get this stamp. I love how you made each square shine and was thinking you must have found a Glossy Accents pen, or some such tool. Or maybe you are blessed with tons of patience.

    Anyway, you did a gorgeous job!

    Bahb

  2. Angela, your card is so lovely. Just love the simplicity-so perfect for masculine cards. Thanks for joining us at A Blog Named Hero.

  3. You put all those little bits back in after you coloured them?! Wow! It looks amazing! Thanks for joining us at A Blog Named Hero!

  4. So Angela, I got the die, cut it, played around with poking some parts out and not others, but in the end, really want to make that rainbow grid. I just can’t figure out how to do the fiddly part. I could mark off each color section on the card base,with a ruler, and color with markers or pencils, then put the grid over that. Is that how you did it?

    Your header on this site is sooooooo gorgeous and surely reflects your CAS style. I just wish you had more artsy time so I could see more of your talent. Too bad work gets in the way, isn’t it.

    Thanks for sharing your art.
    Bahb (I don’t have a blog to see. maybe some day.)

    • Shucks, your comment has made my day, thank you. I made a couple of these cards, so tried a few different alternatives. For the pictured card, I:
      * die cut the white card stock, made sure all of the squares were empty
      * popped one-sided adhesive onto the back of the card so that the empty grid squares would be sticky
      * painted the rainbow onto card stock (I used inktense pencils (or distress paints) on watercolor paper)
      * die cut the rainbow colored card stock, a lot of the pieces stayed in … so …
      * I laid the rainbow card stock over the white card stock and used my piercing tool to pop the squares out of the rainbow into their waiting sticky holes on the white card stock
      * most of the colored pieces were pretty aligned with the holes in the white card stock and so I just moved them into place
      The first time I tried this all of the colored pieces popped out of the die, so I just made mounds of them in the colors, and then popped them into the sticky whit card stock holes. This took longer but not too long.

      An alternative, is to simply lay the white card stock with the holes over the rainbow (no die cutting etc of the rainbow card stock). I just quite liked the popping the colored squares back into the grid.

      Does that help?

Leave a Reply

